The Country that just keeps on Giving......right

05/12/2004
12:16 p.m.

And now for the political tirade of the week:

(Brought to you by the fine makers of Whoop Ass, the drink of choice for all Bull-headed, holier-than-thou Republicans everywhere)

This whole deal with the mistreatment of war prisoners is getting a little out of hand, don't you think? You know what I'm talking about, right? (If not, get your wee little head out of the sand and read this.) I was listening to some nationally syndicated morning talk radio show, and the hosts were having a big debate about if we should be ashamed of the actions of these military soldiers blah, blah, blah.

And, brace yourself, they determined that NO, we shouldn't be ashamed because the Iraqi militants have done much worse.

Umm, excuse me? Yeah, pissed off chick over here.

Isn't one of the reasons that the Taliban attacked us in the first place is because they hate Americans? Do you really think we should be giving them any more reasons? And just because they treat their prisoners horribly (check this out) doesn't mean that we should do the same, regardless of the degree they go to. You know that old saying "Two wrongs don't make a right"? Yeah, well it applies here, bucko.

You know what? I am ashamed. I'm embarrassed. We're supposed to be the big powerful country that everyone looks up to for guidance and protection. We shouldn't stoop to anyone's level. We're supposed to have honor. I don't care how minute you may think these pictures are. There is no excuse, no justification, no reason for this kind of treatment towards another human being.

And let me leave you with a little saying that most people learn in kindergarten.

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Just to jog your memory in case you'd forgotten (which, apparently, a great deal of Americans have), that's called The Golden Rule.


Oh, and to whatever little punk threw an egg at my car the other night while I was driving home, just be glad I didn't turn around and run your cheap ass Yugo off the road. Get a life.

Comments on this Entry (1 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!