Mr. Ed and Memories

05/04/2004
6:41 p.m.

Oh, I give up.

I don't know WHAT, but I'm giving up.

I found out yesterday that my high school sweetheart is getting married. Now, we haven't been together in 7 years, but it still struck a nerve with me. Maybe it's because the announcement stated that he and his fiancee were high school sweethearts. Hah! What bullshit! They started dating after he and I broke up, and he only had about a month and a half left before graduation.

Then again, she was a freshman at the time so maybe she's talking about her high school years. So perhaps he was her high school sweetheart, but I was his. She probably wrote the announcement anyway. Little 14 year old tramp. Back then. I mean, she's 21 now. This isn't Alabama, people.

Okay. That makes me sound really wacko. I don't mean that. It was 7 years ago, for Pete's sake! However, it is a reminder that while he has found his mate, I'm still sitting here by myself.

And besides, he was my first love. I've been going through all these memories, bittersweet and all. I even had a dream about him the other night, before I read the announcement. Maybe my spider-sense was working overtime.

Anyhoo, I did the grownup thing and called his mom to say congrats and all. I would've called him, but he lives in SC and I have no way of locating him that doesn't border on stalking. Yep, I'm an adult. No immaturity here.

Slut.

Seriously, though, it's just another side effect of getting older. We get married, we have babies, etc, etc. And this society makes it a prerequisite for success. If you're a woman and not married, then there's something "wrong" with you.

Blah, blah, blah. I'm getting into a bitchfest that I don't want to do. So I'll just end it here. Hopefully, this tirade has gotten me back into the habit of writing again. I'm sorry for being gone for so long.

Although it does feel nice to know I've been missed.

Congratulations and good luck, Mr. Ed. You'll always have a special place in my heart.

Comments on this Entry (2 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!