Be Careful What You Wish For...

07/10/2003
12:01 p.m.

Ooh. It's been almost a month.

I am a bad, bad person.

I could sit here and try to recap all that has happened, but all that cocaine and heroin usually keeps me from remembering most of it. So, instead, I found a couple of entries that I started to write. I'll give you those and then try to fill in the rest at the end.

Got it?

Good.


Monday, June 30th

Well, today's the day. At least I think today's the day. I mean, he said today's the day. Unless he meant some other today that I don't know about.

"What day is that, Miss Lys?" you ask.

Well, today silly. Didn't I just say that? You people never pay attention, do you?

Today's the day I'm supposed to find out if I'm getting that job In Greensboro. And I say "supposed to" because this is about the third time that today's been the day. First was the interview, then the day last week when the manager was going to call about my project that I submitted, and now today.

.....

Tuesday, July 1st

Okay, I wrote that yesterday.

And he didn't call.

Can anyone say "Jittery, panic mode"?

I've been jumping back and forth between wanting the job and not wanting it. Last Monday, during my vacation, I was thisclose to calling the dude and saying Yo, let's furgit this shiznit. I can't be taking no mo' pressure in this hizouse. I even called mom to get some advice, but I think I really just got her hopes up.

Then, by Friday, I'd swung back in the other direction. I wanted this job BAAAAD. I couldn't really even enjoy my vacation because of all this stress and nervousness.

Now, I think I'm just so consumed with thoughts of that phone ringing that I have no idea whether I want the job or not.

Ring phone.

I don't think I ever got this worked up over a boy calling me. I wasn't one of those chicks that sat by the phone waiting desperately for some acknowledgement of my existence.

Ring, you stupid, dumb, ugly, crazy, freakin' mother-#*$%&% phone!!!!

.....

Thursday, July 3rd

Again, yet another entry not finished. And the situation has completely changed yet again.

I did not get the job.

My initial interview in Atlanta went splendidly. Then I waited. It had been narrowed down to 2 of us. We were given projects to complete. I sent mine in and waited. I was told it was a fantastic project. And waited. I then got tired of waiting and called. I was told the other candidate had been invited to the station, which means that I did not get the job.

You see where waiting gets you? I betcha that other person was calling every day, sending flowers, bribes and envelopes of anthrax, and making a general nuisance of themself.

Of course, the question most often asked of me here at the station (after the obvious "Did you get it?") has been "Who's the other person?" My normal response has been "I don't know. I didn't ask." But I'm starting to wonder: Was I supposed to know? Should I have asked for a social security number and a blood sample? When people go for an interview, do they quiz the prospective employer about all the other applicants? I thought it would have been inappropriate to ask such a thing, but apparently everyone else around here thinks otherwise.

Then again, maybe I should know. That way, I could ruin their credit report or, at the very least, send 'em a nasty chain letter.

Not that I'm bitter or anything.

Actually, I'm handling this a lot better than I thought I'd be. I cried for about an hour, held a personal pity party for about 5 hours, and let Mom be my cheerleader for a half-hour. Then came the lightbulb.


Now we're back in current mode.

Talk about karma coming back and biting you in the ass. See that comment up there about ruining someone's credit report? Well, aparently someone thought I was serious and decided to get back at me.

My credit report has been fucked with.

Y'see, I'm trying to buy a house. It's time. I'm making a commitment to stay in this town for another 5 years at least. I've found the house I want, I've got the down payment covered, I've got my budget in order, everything should be hunky-dory.

You'd think, right?

Well, it turns out that my credit stinks. And I didn't make the poopy, either.

It seems that two years ago, when I started using Consumer Credit Counseling on my credit card debt, one of the card companies forgot to adjust my account to current status. So every month it's been reporting that I'm 120+ days delinquent.

For Two Years.

That shit ain't cool.

Thankfully, the lender knows all this, has gotten the paperwork, and we should be all good to go.

But damn if I shouldn't start watching what I wish on other people.

Comments on this Entry (0 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!