Ask and They Shall Come Play Pool with You

05/04/2003
4:38 p.m.

I�m about as giddy as a schoolgirl. I had a simply marvelous evening yesterday. In fact, I know it was so marvelous simply by the fact that I�m compelled to use the word �marvelous�.

Around about 6:30 pm, I decided that I wanted to go to one of my favorite Tasty Beverage Establishments to eat dinner. This one in particular has a delicious menu which I had been craving for the past several days. And the reason for this menu is a guy that I�ll call The Rookie. (That name has been given for reasons other than the obvious.) This guy is the son of the owner and has recently returned from culinary school in New York. He�s been running the joint ever since he got back. He�s a very sweet and attractive guy, and I�ve sat with him while eating on several occasions. Plus he�s a fabulous cook. I am completely addicted to his mushroom risotto.

Well, this evening, I sit down at the bar and order my usual foamy goodness and request a menu. Lucky for me, they�re having a special on prime rib, one of my sinful weaknesses. I order it up and notice The Rookie is working this evening. Now, like I said before, he�s a very sweet guy. A gentleman, in fact, and, after he waves howdy-do to me, I realize how pleased I am to see him. Pleased as in �Oh my gosh, I think I have a bit of a crush� pleased. After a bit, he sits down next to me, and we share some small talk.

Of course, now the only thing running through my head is �Oh my gosh, I have a crush what should I do should I ask him out does my hair look okay take a deep breath am I smiling too much he�s such a cutie does he have a girlfriend okay Lys don�t make a fool of yourself did he just ask me a question maybe I should answer just smile damnit!��.� etc. etc.

So the first thing that I�m finally able to get out of my mouth is �Are you done working tonight?� to which he responds �Why? Is something going on?� to which I suddenly panic. Is that some kind of a hint? I think to myself. I don�t want to look like a dork, but I can�t let on my interest too soon until I�ve tested the waters, but, then again, that could have been a subtle hint to invite him to do something.

Unfortunately, a friend of his walks up and sits down beside him, and my game has now been completely thrown off. It�s hard to coyly mack on a guy when someone I don�t know intrudes on my groove. After a couple of minutes, The Rookie suggests sitting outside and enjoying the night air. They get up, he turns to me, and tells me that I�m more than welcome to join them. Now you would think this would be a good idea. But I�m smarter than that. I just happen to know that there is a whole group of people out there I don�t know that they will be sitting with. And if you thought my groove was messed up with one person, a whole gaggle throws it completely to shit.

So instead, I sit at the bar, makes friends with a chick sitting next to me, and patiently wait for The Rookie to return. Because I know he�ll be back. He can�t resist the Lys. Besides, he had a plate of food in his hand that he would eventually take back to the kitchen.

But by this time, I have come up with a plan. I�m going to invite him to play a game of pool at the pool hall around the corner. It�s innocent, it�s fun, and I�m good enough at the game to impress any guy. Now all I�m doing is waiting for the chance to ask him.

He comes by a couple more times, and we speak some more. I finally see my moment to ask when, -Oh Shit!- I gotta pee. The beer has kicked in, and Mother Nature is beating down my door. No sweat, I think. I�ll jet to the bathroom, come back, and ask him. It�ll only take a minute.

Once out of the bathroom, I scan the bar for The Rookie, but he�s nowhere to be found. I also notice that his friends have left as well. I peek outside, and they�re all gone.

Damnit. I�ve missed my chance. Now I�ll have to go over to Fortune Cookie�s house like I�d promised earlier in the evening. Damn, damn, damn.

So I finish my beer, pay my tab, gather up my to-go box of prime rib, and head out the door. As I�m walking to my car, I notice a group of people walking on the other side of the street. The Rookie�s people. And he�s with him. At first, I debate crossing the street, but there�s no need. He�s heading this way. By himself. He says goodbye to his peeps and heads back to the Tasty Beverage Establishment. I decide it�s now or never.

�Hey! Where�d you disappear to?� I ask. (Yes, I know that�s bad grammar. I�m trying to be cute. Sue me.)

�Oh, I was just saying bye to my friends.�

�Well, I was going to go play a game of pool, and I thought I would invite you to join me.�

�Sure. Lemme just grab my bag, and I�ll meet you over there.�

Ultimate Success!! I rock. I rule. I try not to do the happy dance where he can see it.

Somehow, he manages to get there first. But maybe that�s because I�ve paused to freshen my makeup. I walk in, and he buys me a drink and asks for a set of balls for one of the tables. I start to stop him from paying for my drink, but quickly mentally smack myself in the head and bite my tongue.

It was such great fun. A lot smack-talking, laughing, and ass-whooping all around. The ass-whooping being done by me, of course. We play four rounds, and I win them all. At the end of the evening, he tells me that there will definitely be a rematch, which I take as a very good sign. He even pays for the games while I�m in the bathroom so I can�t put up a fight. He hugs me, gives me a sweet smile, and says goodnight. Mamma the Bartender gives me a 10 on flirting.

I feel much triumph.

You know, it�s nice to spend time with someone who isn�t always about poking fun at you. We ended up having so much to talk about. I felt sweet and young and like this could turn into something positive.

It almost makes me feel...pure.

One thing I can tell you: I will be spending a whole lot more time at this Tasty Beverage Establishment.



Comments on this Entry (1 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!