I Got Your Weanie Music Right Here

05/13/2003
9:23 p.m.

Monday sucked. As in big, fat, hairy-ass, nasty donkey balls sucked which, in case you didn�t know, is bad.

And if you like big, fat, hairy-ass, nasty donkey balls, I just don�t wanna know.

It was one long day chock full of crap after crap and, oh, look there, more crap. It started out promising enough. I beat a check to the bank, so no overdrawn account. I went to the post office and picked up a certified letter, so yay for me getting the responsible stuff done. I was feeling good.

And then I got to work.

One of the Reporters walked in wanting some graphics for her package, and I promptly sent her back to her Producer as I don�t take requests from the Reporters since, although they are intelligent and look good on camera, they don�t know a thing about the graphics stuff. Some might, but it�s a CYA technique on my part. That stands for �Cover Your Ass�, a common term used in my department.

The Producer brought the corrected request, and I planned my day according to the fact that the package was supposed to run during the 11 o�clock newscast.

So I start working on some pre-rolls, which are short animated openings for packages. I was feelin� my groove. I even got to go get lunch. Like I said, I was feeling good.

Then, the Too Giddy for Words Executive Producer came in. It turns out this package is now going to run in the 6 o�clock newscast instead of at 11. Like, five hours earlier.

Great. Now my day is thrown off. I gotta get a lot more done in a lot less time. Add to it the fact that I run the teleprompter for the 5 o�clock and 6 o�clock newscasts, and you got 1 screwed Graphic Artist.

Normally, in this situation, I would tell my manager. He�s usually really great about finding me some help in the teleprompting department. But today, he started bitching. He started questioning why I couldn�t get things done sooner. All around insinuating that I�ve been goofing off.

I tried to explain that, while I tried to get things done ahead of time, the newsroom canceled and switched sweeps packages, which put me only about a day ahead of schedule as opposed to a week ahead. He nodded gravely and left me be, all the while shaking his head.

*sigh*

Now I feel like ca-ca.

I got through my stuff and decided to get ahead on the pre-roll that airs on Tuesday. I had already started on it on Friday, but it would be great if I can get the whole thing done before the end of the day. I started working, feeling that groove again, when my computer crashes. No sweat. I have a habit of saving on a pretty regular basis. In fact, I just saved this entry. For about the 15th time.

I rebooted my computer, opened up AfterEffects, and tried to open my project.

It wouldn�t let me.

I kept getting a weird error that I�ve never seen before. Now, I�m pretty adept at AfterEffects, but this one�s got me stumped. I tried everything I could possibly think of. I even called my mentor from another station to see if he�s got the mystical answer and�.nothing.

Now I�m getting pissed.

I ended up getting so frustrated that I wanted to throw the computer out the window. So I go outside for a smoke break so I can cool off. I resign myself to just start the project over again. (For those curious, I figured out the problem later today, but it was too late as I�ve already redone the whole thing.)

It�s gotten pretty late at this point and I wanted to go home. I checked my work email one last time and saw an email from our News Director. She�s critiqued the 6 o�clock newscast. I opened it up and began to read.

Everything was standard when it comes to her critiquing. And then I noticed that she�s criticized my pre-rolls. She called my music choices �weanie-ish�. It�s the last straw. That�s not a critique so much as an insult in my mind. It was now time to go home.

I�m a huge perfectionist when it comes to my animations. I�ve also always had this knack of picking the just right music to complement not only the animation, but the news package as well. So when someone starts rattling off things like weanie-ish, Miss Lys ain�t liking it too much.

I mean, come on! It was a story about soldiers returning home from war. There�s little 2-year-olds with balloons running into their daddies� arms. Ladies are crying because they haven�t seen their husbands in months. The music was poignant! What type of music did she want? Megadeath?!!

I guess that�s what we get when using soundtracks that have songs called Ramen & Jalapeno with descriptions such as �Skippy ate some moldy salsa and dreamed of a place far away from home". There�s also one called Brazilian Holiday. It�s description: "You play a little tune on your pan flute in memory of your pet chinchilla, Ned". Scary, huh?

For the record, I�ve never used either of those songs.

I ended up going home and crying. I don�t cry too often. Sure I get mushy at sappy movies and commercials, but I don�t cry about my everyday life. I cried into my pillow and felt lonely and oh so tired.

Then I watched the season finale of Charmed that I�d taped the night before and cried some more.

And oh oh oh(insert sarcasm), thank you so much, Fortune Cookie, for not calling me back like you said you would. I needed some sympathy(you knew that!) and you fell through. Thanks again. I will be filing that with your other many numerous screw-ups.

So that was my day. It sucked. Hope you enjoyed reading about it. I didn�t enjoy living it.



Comments on this Entry (0 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!