We're Moving on Up...To the Bigger Station

05/26/2003
8:03 p.m.

Good Lord! It's been a while since I've updated, huh? Were you getting worried? Did you think that perhaps I'd gotten so distraught over my weanie-ish music and defunct-animation piece that I'd jumped ship and quit?

Well, fear not, fellow campers. I am still here.

Working on my resume and demo reel.

Yeah, I came in last Thursday and the day was beginning to look a lot like that dreaded Monday. Already I was dealing with some hassle. I was getting bummed. Then, I checked my email and noticed that our corporate-wide job listings had been posted. And lemme tell you, I have never prayed for a job opening more in my life.

Apparently, God had me dialed in.

It's very rare to see a posting for a graphic artist at television stations. You get plenty of producers, sales people, and videojournalists listings, but hardly ever a graphic artist. We get to one place, and we squat for a good long while.

This was my lucky day.

The job's in a bigger market, so there's better pay. They actually have an art department, so I wouldn't be doing all this crap alone. And it's a town much like the one I live in, so I wouldn't be making too big of a leap.

It is, however, in North Carolina.

That's further than I originally wanted to move. Granted, it's only 2 states away, and just a 7-hour drive, but it's still a long way from home. Out of my 25 years of life, I've lived about 85% in this town. It's my home. My family lives here, and I'm very close to my family. I was born here, I went to school here, I lost my virg - uh, you get the idea.

Then, I get a phone call from the graphic artist for the corporation. As in, the main one. He's the big kahuna. He's phenomenal. I admire him so much. I'd also kill for his job. I wouldn't kill him, though. He's too funny.

Anyway, he calls to make sure that I've noticed the job opening. Apparently, the station called him asking if he knew of anyone, and he thought of me. He thinks I'd be a perfect fit for this job.

Now I don't know how many of you are into your careers, but that's enough for me. I'm going for it. We're not part of some rinky-dink corporation, and there are a lot of graphic artists that the Big Kahuna knows, so if he picks me, then I gotta do it.

It's a great step for my career. It moves me closer to my ultimate goals and dreams. In all of my fussing over Fortune Cookie, I forgot that my career has always been my first love. I got sidetracked.

And one thing I've always known about my career is that, if I wanted to further it, I would have to move.

So, I'm applying. I'm fine-tuning my demo reel as we speak.

And, hopefully, like The Jeffersons, I'll be movin' on up.

Comments on this Entry (1 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!