Fish Fry Part II: Now there's even BIGGER fish to fry.

04/29/2003
10:22 p.m.



Dear Fortune Cookie,

How stupid do you think I am? Did you really think that I wouldn't see through your lies? Did you think that I wouldn't find out? Didn't you think that perhaps someone would see you and tell me about it? Or maybe she would tell someone who would tell me?

Why couldn't you just be honest with me? I would have been okay with it. We both know how much we've drifted apart in the past month. We both know this relationship is more than likely doomed. All I wanted was for us to be able to preserve our friendship.

But now you've screwed that up, too.

Yet again, you've let me down. I've lost even more respect for you. All trust is completely blown out the window. There's no love left.

Now I just feel sorry for you.

You're such a bitter and sad person. That's what constant lying will do to you. You're never gonna find that great love you're looking for when you only look down on everyone around you. A superiority complex is only going to push away all those who care.

Newsflash: You're not better than the rest of us. We see through your act. We humor your delusions of grandeur because you're our friend. But we won't be taken for granted or mistreated. At least I won't.

I've said this before: You were a great friend. That was the thing I cherished most about us. You made me laugh. You understood so much about me. I just hate that I'm losing that now. The last thing I wanted to do was think less of you.

But, unfortunately, I do.

Regretfully,
Lysistrata


As you can see, Fortune Cookie has decided to pursue other avenues. I don't know yet if he's been sleeping with anyone else. What I do know is that he's been on a date with someone else. I would be okay with that. At least I think I would. We've slowly been moving towards the "just friends" category for a while now.

That's not the problem. I don't like being lied to. And it's not like he just didn't tell me. No, he specifically lied about where he was going to be.

I have several reasons why this sort of lie poses a problem to me.

The first reason is a health issue. I'm on birth control so we don't use condoms(I know, I know: TMI), and I so do not want my health jeopardized because he feels like playing "Hide the Pickle" with someone else for a change. But like I said, I don't know if he's gone that route yet.

The second is a pride issue. The chick he went out with is someone that just annoys the shit outta me. It's petty, I know. But it's still a valid reason in my mind.

The third is that it's just plain rude. And stupid. It wasn't even that great of a lie! I saw through it in about 2 seconds. And please. We all know her. Didn't he even consider the fact that she was probably gonna tell someone else about her weekend?

Now I know what you're thinking. Just a couple of entries ago I was talking about making out with this guy and it's karma coming back on me and I have no right to get angry when I was dishonest to Fortune Cookie as well and blah, blah, blah. I've thought about all of that.

And you know what? I don't give a shit. It's not the same.

Mine just sorta happened. It was a mistake. It was a moment of insanity, and I've chosen not to tell him because it would only make one, if not both, of us feel bad.

But he thought about what he was doing. He considered it, he asked her, and he lied about it. He lied like he was saying the pledge of allegiance. If he can lie about that so easily, what else has he been keeping from me?

*Sigh*

I'm giving up. There's no point anymore. I hate that it turned out this way. I think I'll just sum it up with a quote from Tom Cruise in the movie Cocktail.

Everything ends badly. Otherwise it wouldn't end.


Comments on this Entry (0 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!