Spike Me Baby One More Time!

05/02/2003
1:48 p.m.

Ok class: Raise your hands if you've heard of Dragon*Con. Oh good. A lot of you know what that is. Now, for the rest of you who haven't been doing your homework, here's a brief synopsis:

Dragon*Con is America's largest annual convention for fans of science fiction, fantasy and horror, comics and art, games and computers, animation, science, music, television and films held at the end of August in Atlanta, Georgia. Thousands of people flock there every year to enjoy the gaming, merchandise, features and celebrities that are in abundance. It's one wild weekend.

Now I've never been to Dragon*Con myself, but several of my friends make it one of their yearly trips. One of those people is Fortune Cookie. And he called the other day to tell me about him booking the hotel room, buying his membership pass, and rounding up of the fellow Dragon*Con goers.

He asked me if I wanted to go. And I would be in the same hotel room.

As of right now, I have not mentioned that I know about his lying and persistent deviant behavior (which I have gotten much confirmation on). I'm kinda just keeping it stored in my memory to be used at a later date, when it will be of more use. So my first thoughts are kinda iffy. I'm sittin' there thinking about how, come August, he just may not be my favorite person and vice versa. Do I really want to spend four days in a hotel room with him, and, quite possibly, people who are more likely to have his back than mine? Probably not. It could be very tense, awkward, and just a bad way to spend my precious vacation time.

I was just getting ready to say "Thanks, but no thanks" when he mentions the guest list. So I get curious. You may be curious yourself. Go ahead. Pop on over there and check it out. I'll wait.

.............

Ok, you back? I'll continue.

Looking at this list changed my mind completely. And it's all because of one name.

James Marsters.

Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

My future husband.

Ooh, I just got a tingle.

Now I don't care who stays in the hotel room. I'm too excited that I'm finally going to meet the man I'm gonna marry. I can deal with Fortune Cookie and his posse because I will be spending all of my time with Mr. Marsters.

I can see it all now. We'll bump in to each other somewhere in the hotel. Maybe the lobby, or the bar, or his shower. Who knows? He'll fall madly in love with my charm, wit, and beauty. He'll beg me to move back with him to Los Angeles and get married. Then, every year, we'll go back to Dragon*Con to celebrate our anniversary and share the tale of our awesome love affair.

Ok, ok. I know it's not realistic. But hey, it's my fantasy. Deal with it. If it means having to tolerate a bunch of boys in a room with me, it's a small price to pay for that dream.

Besides, this may turn out to be a whole lot of fun. I've always loved science fiction and the like. I make an effort to go to the Georgia Renaissance Festival every year. This could be my cup of tea.

And who knows? Maybe I'll see you there.

I'll be the one making out with James.



BTW, as a bonus, Ghost of the Robot, the band that James sings in, will be performing there.


Comments on this Entry (0 comments so far)

|prev||next|

Join my Notify List.
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

************************************
� Lysistrata 2003-2004


Get Listed!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!